All Berlin world record holders will be in Berlin for the anniversary event

Eight world records have been set in Berlin, more than at any other marathon in the past 50 years. Haile Gebrselassie set two of them, in 2007 and 2008.

All of the record holders will be coming to Berlin for the celebration: Christa Vahlensieck (Wuppertal, 1977), Ronaldo Da Costa (Brazil, 1998), Tegla Loroupe (Kenya, 1999), Naoko Takahashi (Japan, 2001, first woman to run under 2:20), Paul Tergat (Kenya, 2003), Haile Gebrselassie (Ethiopia, 2007, 2008) and Patrick Makau (Kenya, 2011).

Three-time BERLIN MARATHON champion, Uta Pippig (1990, 1992, 1995), will also be here, as well as Katrin Dörre-Heinig (1994); the two of them were among the top female marathon runners in the world in the 1990s.