Emmanuel Mutai and Liliya Shobukhova claim titles of 2010-11 World Marathon Majors Series

NEW YORK CITY, November 7, 2011 � Emmanuel Mutai of Kenya and Liliya Shobukhova of Russia have been crowned champions of the 2010–2011 World Marathon Majors series, and both were presented $500,000 USD for their respective accomplishments today in New York City.

Emmanuel Mutai accumulated 70 points over the two-year series with a win at the 2011 Virgin London Marathon and three runner-up performances (ING New York City Marathon in 2010 and 2011; Virgin London Marathon in 2010). The men's title came down to the final miles in the final event of the series � yesterday's ING New York City Marathon � as Emmanuel Mutai needed points from either a first or second place performance at yesterday's race when it became clear Geoffrey Mutai (no relation) would win the race. He was second.

�"The World Marathon Majors are the best events and have the strongest fields," said Emmanuel Mutai. �"The series includes races over a two-year period, and to earn the most points over that time and win the series is very difficult so I am proud of my achievement. I came to New York [this weekend] in the lead for the series, knowing that I needed to be at least among the top 3. When I realized that I would be second in the race, I knew this meant that I had won in the final standings. Yes, I was very much thinking about the World Marathon Majors during the race."

Shobukhova secured the women's title in October when she won the Bank of America Chicago Marathon and set an insurmountable 30-point lead in the standings. She finished the series with 90 points, also having posted victories at the Bank of America Chicago Marathon in 2010 and the Virgin London Marathon in 2010. She was runner-up at the Virgin London Marathon earlier this year. Shobukhova also won the 2009–2010 World Marathon Majors series.

�"I want to thank the World Marathon Majors for its great idea to raise awareness of the sport and its top athletes," said Shobukova. �"The series has helped both to identify talented runners and to place attention on marathon running. I don't think I would have achieved such heights in marathoning without the series, even after many years in the sport. Also, the World Marathon Majors has helped the best marathoners to focus on the best events, which adds to the competition and which surely will help anyone in their preparation for the Olympics."

The World Marathon Majors series point structure:
1st place: 25 points; 2nd place: 15 points; 3rd place: 10 points; 4th place: 5 points; 5th place: 1 point.
The events comprising the World Marathon Majors are the B.A.A. Boston Marathon, the Virgin London Marathon, the BMW Berlin Marathon, the Bank of America Chicago Marathon, and the ING New York City Marathon. In years in which the IAAF World Championships or Olympic Games are contested, the marathons from those events also may count towards scoring in the series.

2010-11 Series:


1.) Emmanuel Mutai, KEN, 70 points
2.) Geoffrey Mutai, KEN, 65 points
3.) Patrick Makau, KEN, 60 points
4.) Tsegaye Kebede, ETH, 51 points
5t.) Gebre Gebremariam, ETH, 40 points
5t.) Moses Mosop, KEN, 40 points


1.) Liliya Shobukhova, RUS, 90 points
2.) Edna Kiplagat, KEN, 60 points
3.) Mary Keitany, KEN, 45 points
4.) Bezunesh Bekele, ETH, 30 points
5t.) Firehiwot Dado, ETH, 25 points
5t.) Teyba Erkesso, ETH, 25 points
5t.) Aberu Kebede, ETH, 25 points
5t.) Caroline Kilel, KEN, 25 points
5t.) Florence Kiplagat, KEN, 25 points

Media Contacts:

Boston: Jack Fleming +1 617.236.1652 ext. 2627
London: Nicola Okey + 44 207.902.0182
Berlin: Thomas Steffens + 49 171.933.4836
Chicago: Robin Monsky + 1 312.992.6630
New York: Richard Finn +1 212.423.2229