Sifan Hassan, Kelvin Kiptum, Catherine Debrunner and Marcel Hug have been crowned Abbott World Marathon Majors Series XV champions.

The series concluded at the 2023 TCS New York City Marathon.

Kiptum and Hug already had their victories assured, with Kiptum winning the TCS London Marathon and then the Bank of America Chicago Marathon in a world record 2:00:35 to seal the men’s open division title.

Wheelchair racer Hug had swept all five Majors before New York and promptly made it six from six with a dominant display in the final event. Hug was presented with a special gold Six Star medal to mark the accomplishment.

Hassan, with wins in London and Chicago, could only be caught by Kenyan Hellen Obiri, who needed to win in New York to add to her Boston victory and tie Hassan at the top of the leaderboard.

Obiri duly obliged, out-kicking Letesenbet Gidey in Central Park to claim the race victory.

That meant the six race directors of the Abbott World Marathon Majors had to each vote for their choice to be the 2023 women’s series champion. The vote went the way of Hassan, who set the second fastest time in history of 2:13:44 when she won in Chicago.

(L-R) Marcel Hug, Sifan Hassan and Catherine Debrunner were in New York to receive their series awards.

For Debrunner, it was all in her own hands. She went into the final race three points behind her Swiss compatriot Manuela Schär, with defending series champion, the USA’s Susannah Scaroni, two points further back and Madison de Rozario of Australia also within striking distance of the title if she could win in New York.

Debrunner left all her rivals behind from the gun, descending the Verrazzano-Narrows Bridge with a commanding lead that she never relinquished.

She went on to break Scaroni’s course record, finishing in 1:39:32 to take the win, the record bonus and the series.

It caps a stunning fall season for Debrunner, who shot into contention by winning the BMW BERLIN-MARATHON in a world record time before adding the Bank of America Chicago Marathon to her list of successes two weeks later.

Kelvin Kiptum claimed the Series XV title, running a world record 2:00:35 in Chicago

Abbott World Marathon Majors CEO Dawna Stone said: “We are thrilled to see the series end in such spectacular fashion in New York City, and to have four such incredible series champions to celebrate.

“Series XV has been one for the history books, with three new world records set across the divisions and a host of course and regional records falling as well.

“Our six races continue to raise the bar of elite performance in the marathon, and we congratulate Sifan, Catherine, Kelvin and Marcel on their fantastic achievements in this series.”

Series XVI will begin at the Tokyo Marathon on March 3, 2024.

Final top 5 standings

Elite men   
Elite women   
Wheelchair men   
Wheelchair women   
Prize money   
Kelvin Kiptum 50   
Sifan Hassan 50**   
Marcel Hug 124   
Catherine Debrunner 100   
Tamirat Tola 34   
Hellen Obiri 50   
Daniel Romanchuk 76   
Manuela Schär 82   
Benson Kipruto 25*   
Amane Beriso 41   
Jetze Plat 45   
Susannah Scaroni 70   
Eliud Kipchoge 25   
Rosemary Wanjiru 25   
Tomoki Suzuki 20   
Madison de Rozario 50   
Albert Korir 20**   
Alemu Megertu 25   
Aaron Pike 12   
Eden Rainbow-Cooper 20   

*Benson Kipruto beat Eliud Kipchoge in Boston so finishes above him on head-to-head. Kipchoge started in two Majors: Boston and Berlin.

** Albert Korir has less points than Deso Gelmisa, Evans Chebet and Victor Kaplangat (each has 25), but he started in two Majors, while those athletes only started in one. Per AbbottWMM rules in the elite open division, an athlete must start in at least two Qualifying Races over the cycle to be eligible for the prize. If an athlete earns points in more than two events, the athlete’s highest two finishes are scored.

***Sifan Hassan is declared champion by race director vote over Hellen Obiri

In the wheelchair division, an athlete’s best four scores are used for their total at the end of the series.

Share this post

Other news

Marathon Talk meets Mallory Creveling - Runner’s World Deputy Editor, Health & Fitness

Marathon Talk Episode 43: Mallory Creveling - Runner’s World Deputy Editor, Health & Fitness

Marathon Talk meets Mallory Creveling - Runner’s World Deputy Editor, Health & Fitness

Running in the Family

Running marathons brings an Abbott employee and his 80-year-old father closer together
Marathon Tours & Travel sponsors Abbott World Marathon Majors Age Group World Championships

Marathon Tours & Travel to sponsor Age Group programs

AbbottWMM Age Group program joins forces with global marathon tour operator