• Login
  • Register

In 1979, after running the New York City Marathon with John Disley, the late Chris Brasher questioned whether London could stage such a festival. “We have the course … but do we have the heart and hospitality to welcome the world?” Later that year Brasher travelled to America, where the running boom of the late 1970s had started. He witnessed the Boston Marathon and revisited the New York City race. He studied both races’ organizations and finances.

The first London Marathon was held on 29 March 1981. More than 20,000 people wanted to run; 7,747 were accepted.

On his return, Brasher and Disley secured a three-year contract with Gillette for £75,000, established the organization’s charitable status, and set down six main aims for the event. The first London Marathon was held on March 29 1981. More than 20,000 people wanted to run; 7,747 were accepted. There were 6,255 finishers led home by American Dick Beardsley and Norwegian Inge Simonsen. Joyce Smith broke the British record to win the women’s race. The 1982 race received more than 90,000 applicants from around the world. The entry was limited to 18,059.

Dick Beardsley and Inge Simonsen cross the Finish Line together to win the first London Marathon

Since then, the Virgin Money London Marathon has grown to more than 39,000 starters and finishers, and elite runners compete for US$313,000 in prize money. Both men's and women's world records have been set in the race, including the current women's mark of 2:15:25 by Britain's Paula Radcliffe in 2003. The race is viewed in more than 196 countries worldwide and watched by between four and five million viewers in the UK via the BBC. In 2016, the London Marathon’s one millionth finisher crossed the Finish Line on The Mall.

Runners in the Virgin Money London Marathon have raised more than £830 million for charities while The London Marathon Charitable Trust, which owns the race, has granted more than £64.5 million to help improve sport and recreation facilities where projects are boosting sports participation and physical activity.

Inaugural running


    2006 32,980 22,896 10,084
    2007 35,674 24,819 10,855
    2008 34,509 23,611 10,898
    2009 35,371 22,930 12,441
    2010 36,550 24,421 12,129
    2011 34,705 22,441 12,264
    2012 36,705 23,641 13,064
    2013 34,208 21,988 12,220
    2014 35,809 22,563 13,246
    2015 37,576 23,205 14,371
    2016 39,167 24,045 15,122
    2017 39,487 23,987 15,509

Course records

Men 2:03:05 (Eliud Kipchoge, KEN, 2016)
Women only 2:17:01 (Mary Keitany, KEN, 2017)
Women mixed 2:15:25 (Paula Radcliffe, GBR, 2003)
Men's Wheelchair 1:28:56 (Kurt Fearnley, AUS, 2009)
Women's Wheelchair 1:39:57 (Manuela Schar, SUI, 2017)

Prize purse

US$313,000 (US$55,000 to male & female champions)

Wheelchair prize purse: US$112,000 (US$20,000 to male & female champions)

Time & record bonuses

More than US$850,000 (US$125,000 for world record; US$25,000 for course record)

Wheelchair time & record bonus: US$10,000 (US$5,000 for course record)

Largest field

39,487 finishers (2016)

Estimated spectators



Current Champions
Latest News
Previous Champions
Six Star Finishers
Media Resources
Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view the World Marathon Majors website correctly & securely.Update my browser now