New course record set at the Virgin Money London Marathon 2014

The 34th Virgin Money London Marathon took place on April 13, 2014 under a splendid sunny sky, with more than 36,000 runners.
Edna Kiplagat (KEN) won her first London title in 2:20:21, conquering the tough competition with her compatriot Florence Kiplagat (KEN) in the final 200 metres, while last year's London winner Priscah Jeptoo dropped out of the race at around 28 km, after pulling her calf.

In the men's race there could only be one winner in such a high quality field, and it was the world record holder, Wilson Kipsang (KEN) who raced home in style. He not only won this legendary race, but also set a new course record in 2:04:29.

Though being highly anticipated, Mo Farah (GBR), the world and Olympic 5,000 and 10,000 metres champion, finished 8th in his marathon debut.

WMM competition resumes next Monday, April 21, with the B.A.A. Boston Marathon. In the men's race, Dennis Kimetto (KEN) and Lelisa Desisa (ETH), who are currently in the 2nd and 3rd places on the WMM 2013-2014 Series leaderboard, will face each other. Rita Jeptoo (KEN) and Sharon Cherop (KEN), currently in the 2nd and 7th places, are to compete against each other in women's race.