Abbott World Marathon Majors Previous Champions

Robert Cheruiyot on the way to victory at the 2007 Boston Marathon
Series Men Women
Series I: 2006/07 Robert K Cheruiyot (KEN) Gete Wami (ETH)
Series II: 2007/08 Martin Lel (KEN) Irina Mikitenko (GER)
Series III: 2008/09 Sammy Wanjiru (KEN) Irina Mikitenko (GER)
Series IV: 2009/10 Sammy Wanjiru (KEN) Irina Mikitenko (GER) *
Series V: 2010/11 Emmanuel Mutai (KEN) Edna Kiplagat (KEN) *
Series VI: 2011/12 Geoffrey Mutai (KEN) Mary Keitany (KEN)
Series VII: 2012/13 Tsegaye Kebede (ETH) Priscah Jeptoo (KEN)
Series VIII: 2013/14 Wilson Kipsang (KEN) Edna Kiplagat (KEN) **
Series IX: 2015/16 Eliud Kipchoge (KEN) Mary Keitany (KEN)
Series X: 2016/17 Eliud Kipchoge (KEN) Edna Kiplagat (KEN) ***
Series XI: 2017/18 Eliud Kipchoge (KEN) Mary Keitany (KEN)
Series XII: 2018/19 Eliud Kipchoge (KEN) Brigid Kosgei (KEN)

Wheelchair Series Champions

Series Men Women
Series X: 2016/17 Marcel Hug (SUI) Tatyana McFadden (USA)
Series XI: 2017/18 Marcel Hug (SUI) Manuela Schär (SUI)
Series XII: 2018/19 Daniel Romanchuk (USA) Manuela Schär (SUI)

* Liliya Shobukhova (RUS) was the original winner of Series IV and V but she was banned from competition for a doping violation in April 2014 and all her results from 9 October 2009 have been annulled.

** Rita Jeptoo (KEN) won four races in the 2013/14 series but gave positive A and B samples in an out-of-competition test in September 2014. Her standings and the final results of the 2013/14 Series have been determined at the completion of the due legal process and the outcome of an appeal. As a result, the Series VIII title has been awarded to Edna Kiplagat.

*** Edna Kiplagat was crowned women's Series X champion following the doping investigation and legal process against Jemima Sumgong (KEN), who won two races but gave a positive sample in an out-of-competition test in February 2017.